An independent Board of Trustees governs EMG and make final decisions on finance, policy and overall direction of the organisation. Current Trustees are:

Tony Barbour (chair), formerly of the Environmental Evaluation Unit, UCT, is currently an environmental consultant.

Osman Asmal is Director for the City of Cape Town's Environmental Resource Management Department. Amongst his responsibilities is to co-ordinate the establishment of Cape Town's Energy and CDM Strategy. He is a founder member of the South African Cities Network on Local Agenda 21.

Rachel Wynberg is a senior researcher at the Environmental Evaluation Unit, UCT, where she works on issues relating to biodiversity use, trade and social justice. Rachel is a founder member of EMG and is also a trustee of Biowatch South Africa.

George Davis is a founder member of EMG, and a Deputy Director at the South African National Biodiversity Institute, where he heads the Urban Conservation Programme.

Stephen Law (Ex-officio), Director of EMG

 Herschelle Millford